The Mirror of Manipur || Fast, Factual and Fearless.

N Biren takes oath as Manipur CM for second term


Th Biswajit Singh, Yumnam Khemchand, Govindas Konthoujam, Nemcha Kipgen and Awangbou Newmai sworn in as Cabinet Ministers.

TFM Desk

Following the election of BJP Legislative Party leader, Governor of Manipur La Ganesan on Monday administered the oaths of office and secrecy to N Biren Singh as chief minister at the Raj Bawan lawn in Imphal. This is the second term for N Biren as Chief Minister after he was unanimously elected as leader of BJP Legislative party on Sunday ending week-long suspense since results of the 12 Manipur legislative assembly elections came on March 10.

Along with N Biren Singh, former minister Th Biswajit Singh, former speaker Yumnam Khemchand, former Manipur Pradesh congress committee president Govindas Konthoujam, who joined the BJP months before the elections, former minister Nemcha Kipgen and NPF MLA Awangbou Newmai took oath as the Cabinet Ministers.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by BJP national president JP Nadda, Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, Tripura chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb and newly-elected MLAs, including former chief minister O Ibobi Singh among others.

This is the second term of the BJP government in Manipur. The party retained power in the state by winning 32 seats in the 60-member Manipur legislative assembly. The Congress, which had ruled for 15 consecutive years, suffered a humiliating defeat bagging just five seats. The Nationalist People Party (NPP) won seven seats while the Janata Dal (United) and Naga People’s Front got six and five seats respectively. The JD(U), NPF, newly-floated Kuki People’s Alliance (KPA), which won two seats, and two Independent MLAs extended their unconditional support to the BJP-led government.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.