The Mirror of Manipur || Fast, Factual and Fearless.

Rio exercises Nagaland cabinet reshuffle

Swearing in ceremony of Yollow Konyak

YM Yollow was sworn in as minister of Environment, Forests and Climate change at Raj Bhavan, Kohima.

By Imna Longchar, TFM Nagaland Correspondent

After a day when former Nagaland Chief Minister, and Naga People’s Front Legislature Party (NPFLP) leader, TR Zeliang, was appointed as the chairman of the United Democratic Alliance (UDA), major reshuffle were seen in the Neiphiu Rio led government in Nagaland.

According to an official notification issued by Nagaland’s Cabinet Secretary, J Alam, in exercise of the powers conferred by Clause (1) of Article 164 of Nagaland, YM Yollow, who survived from defection in 2019 along with fellow legislators from Eastern Nagaland and steadfastly settled with the “grand old” Naga regional “Cock Party” was picked-up to fill in the vacancy in Neiphiu Rio’s cabinet in the State.

He was on Wednesday sworn in as minister of Environment, Forests and Climate change at Raj Bhavan, Kohima.

In another communiqué, Nagaland’s cabinet secretary has also stated that two members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) have been appointed as Advisors to different departments of the state.

Chuba Chang has been allotted the portfolio of Justice and Law, and SCERT, while S Keoshu Yimchunger was allotted Village Guards, Information and Public Relations.

According to the communiqué, the arrangement would help utilize the vast and practical experience of the members of the NLA for the benefit of public at large.

The communiqué also stated that the Advisors would render their advice on matters that are referred to them by the concerned minister in charge for decision.

The advisors would not be eligible for any pay, salary, emoluments, remuneration or any perks/advantages of any kind from the Government of Nagaland other than what is normally admissible to them as members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) through the assembly secretariat.

It may be mentioned that NPF legislator YM Yollow Konyak, was elected from 42-Wakching Assembly Constituency. He was sworn-in to the council of ministers of the government of Nagaland, where Nagaland governor Prof. Jagdish Mukhi, administered the oath of office and secrecy to Yollow.

Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio, UDA Chairman T R Zeliang, host of Ministers, and officials attended the swearing in ceremony. Rio and T R Zeliang further congratulated Y M Yollow Konyak on being inducted to the Cabinet Minister of Nagaland. Yollow is a second time MLA and was first elected into the State Assembly in 2013 as Independent candidate.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.