The Mirror of Manipur || Fast, Factual and Fearless.

Voters’ Day: Voters’ Decision to decide kind of government for next five years, says Manipur Chief Secretary


As part of the nationwide observance under the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Manipur, observed the 12th National Voters’ Day 2022 (NVD), under the theme ‘Making Elections Inclusive, Accessible, and Participative’.

TFM Desk

Manipur chief secretary Rajesh Kumar on Tuesday stressed on the importance of voters and election in democracy and maintained that it is the decision of the voters that will decide the kind of government for the next five years.

In this context, it is our responsibility to take careful decisions in exercising our votes and selecting the right candidate, Dr Rajesh asserted.

Rajesh was speaking as the chief guest at the observation of the 12th National Voters’ Day 2022 (NVD) at City Convention Centre, Palace Compound. It was organised by the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Manipur under the theme ‘Making Elections Inclusive, Accessible, and Participative’, according to an official release.

He further expressed that the Election Commission of India has carried out many reforms for proper conduct of election. He added that as a responsible citizen it is our duty to inform the election machinery of any malpractices, inducement or violation of model code of conduct. He urged the electors to come out in large numbers and cast their valuable votes and to pledge for a free and fair election. To ensure a COVID safe election, he further appealed to the Voters to come forward for vaccination.

The function was attended by Director General of Police, Manipur, P Doungel, additional chief secretaries, Government of Manipur, Letkhogin Haokip, Paulunthang Vaiphei and Vumlunmang Vualnam as the guests of honor of the programme and was presided by CEO, Manipur, Rajesh Agrawal.

CEO Rajesh Agrawal speaking on the progress of the election process of the country since its inception, said such concerted efforts have made the Electoral process truly inclusive, accessible and participative. He expressed that the entire election machinery has been unified and geared up to ensure ‘Free, Fair, Peaceful & Participative Elections’ in the ensuing State Assembly Election, 2022.

As a part of the occasion, a photo exhibition on the SVEEP Campaign was formally opened by the chief guest. Administering of National Voters’ Day Pledge, presentation of newly enrolled voters with badges and EPIC, felicitation of SVEEP State Icons, launching of video on Ethical Voting, PwD & Video screening on SVEEP Campaigns and distribution of various awards were the main highlights of the event.

District Election Officer (DEO), Imphal West, Th. Kirankumar, DEO, Chandel, Mayanglambam Rajkumar and DEO, Churachandpur, Pawan Yadav received the Star DEO Award. Electoral Registration Officers (EROs) 3-Khurai, 19-Patsoi, 26-Bishenpur, 30-Lilong, 34-Wangjing Tentha and 58-Churachandpur bagged the Star ERO Award. BLOs of 58-Churachandpur, 52-Tamei, 5-Thongju, 53-Tamenglong, 47-Karong and 9-Thangmeiband received the Star BLO award.

Winners of State Level Ballot Battle Quiz Competition were also felicitated. The winners are: Bishnupur District – Rajkumari Olivia Devi and Rajkumar Ishworchandra Singh of Loktak Christian Model High School, Moirang; Senapati District – Mashungam John Raikhan and Aiyush Katwal of Mt. Everrest Higher Secondary School and Imphal District – Md. Arash Ahmed and Mohd. Hibjur Rahaman E. K. Higher Secondary School respectively.

Additional CEO, N. Praveen Singh, joint CEO, Ramananda Nongmeikapam, joint CEO, Md. S. Daulat Khan and concerned officers and officials also attended the observance.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.