The Mirror of Manipur || Fast, Factual and Fearless.

Manipur 2022: Phase-II Polling for 22 ACs in 6 electoral districts and Phase-I repolls underway


A total of 8,38,730 voters – 4,10,020 males, 4,28,679 females and 31 transgender will exercise their franchise today

TFM Desk

Phase II: Polling in 22 Assembly Constituencies under six electoral districts namely 10 in Thoubal, 2 in Chandel, 3 in Ukhrul, 3 in Senapati, 3 in Tamenglong and 1 in Jiribam is underway.

A total of 8,38,730 electors including 4,10,020 males, 4,28,679 females and 31 transgender will exercise their franchise in Phase-II, out of which 20,511 are 80+ voters. There are a total of 4,849 PwD electors and 480 Centenarian voters. There are a total of 1247 polling stations including 12 P-3 polling stations and 213 P-2 polling stations.

It is worth mentioning that 223 polling stations are being manned by all women polling personnel. Notably, 31- Thoubal AC will be manned by all women polling teams. A total of 4988 polling personnel are being deployed and all polling personnel have reached their respective polling stations. There will be 39 Model Polling Stations.

Polling at Hiyanglam

A total of 92 candidates including 2 female are in fray for the poll scheduled tomorrow. Out of 92 candidates, 17 candidates have criminal antecedents. The party wise number of candidates: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) -22, Indian National Congress (INC)-18, Naga People’s Front (NPF)- 10, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) -02, National People’s Party (NPP) -11, Janata Dal-United (JD-U) -10, Republican Party of India-Athawale (RPI-A) -03, Shiv Sena-02, one candidate each from CPI and Rashtriya Janhit Sangharsh Party (RJSP) and Independent – 12.

The High Court of Manipur, in its Order dated 3rd March, 2022 in PIL No.8 of 2022, has directed to undertake verification of dates of birth of all young voters in 33-Heirok Assembly Constituency who appear to be in the vicinity of the age of majority, i.e. 18 years by producing two separate documents of proof of date of birth at the polling station on the day of poll.

Repoll for 12 polling stations

Repoll for 12 polling stations of Phase I Assembly Constituencies is also underway. The 12 Polling Stations going for re-poll are 1/20-Sarouthel (1-Khundrakpam AC), Imphal East; 51/46- New Keithelmanbi (51-Saitu(ST) AC), Kangpokpi; from Churachandpur District – 56/5-Songsang, 56/10-Maite and 56/19-Tinsuong (56-Thanlon (ST) AC); 57/20- Majuron Kuki, 57/31-N.Chingphei, 57/34- Khoirentak, 57/39- Molsang and 57/49- Leinom (57-Henglep (ST) AC); 60/36- Teikot and 60/43- Maukot (60-Singhat (ST) AC).

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.