The Mirror of Manipur || Fast, Factual and Fearless.

Manipur 2022: 2 killed in Manipur poll violence; 67.77% polling till 3 pm in Phase-2 Assembly Election

Polling in Noney district - PHOTO Source @TheUncutz


Manipur Assembly Election Phase-2 has so far has been marred by violence as two persons were reportedly killed in separate incidents across the state.

In Thoubal district, a Congress worker was allegedly gunned down a BJP supporter who passed away at a hospital in Imphal.

It was learnt that the BJP supporter along with other party activists had gone to the residence of the Congress worker in the early hours to desist him from campaigning as the fixed period for the same was already over. After an physical tussle, the BJP worker was fired at. It was also reported that the Congress worker was also injured in the ensuing scuffle.

The Congress activist, who is yet to be arrested, was also injured after the visiting BJP workers hurled stones at him when Singh was shot, he added.

In Senapati district, one person was reportedly killed and another injured by security forces deployed for election duty at the polling station at Ngamju village in the Karong constituency. In a letter written to the returning officer of Karong AC by Ngaoni R James, the election agent to the BJP candidate, due to a gunshot, K Longvao, son of T Kah lost his life, whereas V Saope, son of S Vane was severely injured and battling for his life, he stated.

According to the statement, the civilians were shot without giving proper reason or warning by the security forces deployed at the polling station in the ongoing second phase of polls.

Polling for the second and last phase of assembly elections in Manipur began at 7 am in 22 constituencies across six districts.

Manipur recorded 67.77% polling till 3 pm in 22 Assembly Constituencies 6 Electoral Districts.

Thoubal district Thoubal 67.17%, Chandel 70.30%, Ukhrul 67.99%, Senapati 74.02%, Tamenglong 57.81% while Jiribam recorded 67.80%.

The number of Assembly Constituencies that went to polls on Saturday include 10 in Thoubal, 2 in Chandel, 3 in Ukhrul, 3 in Senapati, 3 in Tamenglong and 1 in Jiribam.

Polling is underway in 22 constituencies spread across six districts and will decide the electoral fate of 92 candidates, including two women who are in the fray. The 22 Assembly constituencies going for the polls today are Lilong, Thoubal, Wangkhem, Heirok, Wangjing Tentha, Khangabo, Wabgai, Kakching, Hiyanglam, Sugnoo, Jiribam, Chandel (ST), Tengnoupal (ST), Phungyar (ST), Ukhrul (ST), Chingai (ST), Karong (ST), Mao (ST), Tadubi (ST), Tamei (ST), Tamenglong (ST), and Nungba (ST).

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has also called upon all those whose constituencies are polling today to vote in large numbers and mark the festival of democracy.



You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.