The Mirror of Manipur || Fast, Factual and Fearless.

Manipur 2022: BJP storms to victory with massive mandate


The BJP becomes the single largest party with 32 seats; NPP bags 7 while JD (U) clinches 6 ACs

TFM Desk

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is all set to form the next government in Manipur with or without any allies as it won 32 assembly seats. Any party needs just 31 seats to prove its majority in the 60 member Manipur Legislative Assembly.

Prominent seats won by the BJP include Andro AC (Thounaojam Shyamkumar), Bishenpur AC (Konthoujam Govindas Singh), Chandel AC (SS Olish), Heingang AC (N Biren Singh), Heirok    AC (Thokchom Radheshyam Singh), Henglep AC (Letzamang Haokip), Kangpokpi     AC (Nemcha Kipgen), Khurai AC (L Susindro), Konthoujam (Sapam Ranjan Singh), Lamsang AC (S Rajen Singh), Langthabal AC (Karam Shyam), Mayang Imphal AC (Kongkham Robindro Singh), Nambol AC (Th Basanta Kumar Singh), Naoriya Pakhanglakpa AC (Sagolshem Kebi Devi), Nungba AC (Dinganglung Gangmei), Patsoi AC (Sapam Kunjakeswor (Keba) Singh), Sagolband     AC (RK Imo Singh), Saikot AC (Paolienlal Haokip), Sekmai AC (Heikham Dingo Singh), Singjamei AC (Yumnam Khemchand Singh), Tengnoupal AC (Letpao Haokip), Thanga AC (Tongbram Robindro Singh), Thanlon AC (Vungzagin Valte), Thongju AC (Thongam Biswajit Singh          ), Uripok AC (Kh Raghumani Singh), Wabagai AC (Usham Deben Singh), Wangjing Tentha AC (Paonam Brojen Singh), Yaiskul   AC (Thokchom Satyabrata Singh) among others. Most of the BJP candidates have won their seats with clear majority except for few assembly constituencies.

Chief Minister N Biren Singh has expressed gratitude to the people of Manipur for giving the BJP a clear cut mandate.



The most prominent losers this time round include Yumnam Joykumar Singh (Deputy CM in the former government) from Uripok AC, MPCC president N Loken of Nambol AC and Gaikhangam of Nungba AC who was the deputy chief minister during the regime led by Okram Ibobi Singh. The former Congress chief minister won the Thoubal AC with a massive mandate. L Jayanta Kumar Sigh, who was a minister in the N Biren Singh led government also lost the Keishamthong AC. The seat was won by Sapam Nishikant Singh, an independent candidate who was not given a BJP ticket.

One significant result of this election is how a small party like the Janata Dal (Unted) made inroads into Manipur by winning 6 seats, just behind the National People’s Party with 7 seats. The Indian National Congress and the Naga People’s Front (NPF) won 5 seats each while three independent candidates also won against their nearest rivals. The Kuki People’s Alliance that have won two seats in the Kuki dominated areas is noteworthy given the call for support to the BJP by armed groups under the Suspension of Operation.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has hailed BJP’s Performance in Goa, Uttarakhand and Manipur.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.