The Mirror of Manipur || Fast, Factual and Fearless.

Governor La Ganesan vows possible support for Manipuri Cinema’s growth

Photo: La Ganesan @manipurgovernor

Legendary filmmaker Aribam Syam Sharma fumed over remark by few personalities that Manipuri Cinema will fade away considering its present state of affairs.

TFM Desk

The prestigious 14th Manipur State Film Awards, 2022 were distributed today during Award Ceremony, held at Palace Auditorium of Manipur State Film Development Society.
The award for the Best Feature Film was won by ‘Eikhoigi Yum’ directed by Romi Meitei and produced by Chingshubam Sheetal. Best Direction Award was handed over to Bobby Haobam for the film ‘Rongdaife’, said a release issued by Sunzu Bachaspatimayum, Secretary, MSFDS.

For the non-feature section, the Best Non-Feature Film was bagged by ‘Ayekpasinggi Pukkei’ directed by Debendra Thiyam and produced by Brojeshwori Maibam. The film also won the awards for Best Film of a Debut Director, Best Audiographer, Best Music Direction and Best Voice Over or narration. ‘Pabung Syam’ directed by Haobam Paban Kumar and produced by Films Division, won the Best Biographical Film. The film also won the award for Best Director. The Best Social issue for non-feature film was bagged by Beyond Blast, a film by Saikhom Ratan, on a budding artist whose legs were amputated because of bomb blast.

Speaking during the award distribution ceremony, Governor La Ganesan opined that much of the nation’s history is being imparted through movies. The Governor, while noting that cinema is a powerful medium, exhorted the State’s filmmakers to produce films that showcase the diverse and rich culture of Manipur. He also vowed that he will extend all possible support to facilitate growth of Manipuri Cinema.

The Governor also exuded confidence that efforts of MSFDS will elevate the status of Manipuri Cinema and encourage the State’s budding filmmakers, technicians and enthusiasts.  Water Resources and Relief and Disaster Management Minister Awangbow Newmai, in his presidential address, stated that one has something to learn from every film.

Meanwhile, Lifetime Achievement Award winner, renowned filmmaker L. Banka Sharma expressed gratitude on being honoured with the prestigious award. He confided that he had always longed for the award.

Earlier during the day in observation of ‘Mami Numit’, the birth of Manipuri Cinema legendary filmmaker, Aribam Syam Sharma fumed over remark by few personalities that Manipuri Cinema will evanesce considering its present state of affairs. The internationally acclaimed filmmaker expressed desire for the younger generations to strive harder, seek advice from the seasoned artistes and get professionally trained to foster growth of Manipuri Cinema.

He further pointed out that there are negligible technological disadvantages in the present day. Besides, Manipur has a rich culture, he said and refuted the idea that Manipuri Cinema will fade away.

The attendees of the Mami Numit observation, paid floral tributes to departed pioneers of Manipuri Cinema at the Ningshing Nungbi, Memorial Stone erected inside the MSFDS complex.  The awards distribution ceremony of the 14th Manipur State Film Awards, 2022 amid its ambience of jubilation and cheers, witnessed a turning point as a third gender actor was honoured with Best Actor Award in a first in Manipur.

Even as third gender persons have long been associated with Manipuri Cinema when it comes to make-up and costumes, the award distribution ceremony gave a reason for everyone to celebrate as Bishesh Huirem strode on the MSFDS Palace Auditorium stage in the spotlight to receive the award from Manipur Governor La Ganesan during the ceremony here today.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.