The Mirror of Manipur || Fast, Factual and Fearless.

NPF felicitates 5 winning candidates in Manipur; Lauds N Biren for making BJP secure 32 seats


The newly elected NPF candidates from Manipur were felicitated by the NPF President Shurhozelie Liezietsu and the senior leaders in Kohima.

By Imna Longchar, TFM Nagaland Correspondent

Former Nagaland Chief Minister and UDA chairman, TR Zeliang on Friday congratulated the five NPF candidates who emerged victorious in the recently held Manipur Assembly Election.

The five winning NPF candidates are Sh. Leishiyo Keishing (43-Phungyar AC), Sh. Ram Muivah (44-Ukhrul AC), Sh. Khashim Vashum (45-Chingai AC), Sh. Losii Dikho (48-Moa AC) and Sh. Awangbou Newmai (57-Tamei AC).

Thanking and paying his respect to the party’s rank and file both in Manipur and NPF Central, Nagaland, Zeliang also acknowledged the tireless efforts and sacrifice of all NPF party men and women, and the voters who have reposed their faith in the Naga Peoples’ Front.

Stating that although five other NPF candidates could not make it to the winning lists, the former chief minister asked the party workers not to be discouraged but continue to work harder with the passion and purpose to take the NPF party forward.

He later said he hope that the entry of the 5 NPF MLAs in the Manipur Legislative Assembly would be the “cursor” in bringing peace, socio-economic and political balance in Naga inhabited areas of Manipur.

An earlier statement issued by NPF exuded confidence that the five elected MLAs will be steadfast in their commitment to the welfare of the citizens of Manipur in general and the Hills people in particular, while remaining true to the ideology and manifesto of the NPF Party.

“We salute the NPF, Manipur State Unit (MSU) and all its frontal organizations, under the astute leadership of the President, Shri Awangbow Newmai who has tirelessly campaigned for the success of the NPF Party”, said the NPF.

NPF also extended gratitude to the electorate who deemed the NPF candidates worthy of their votes, “whether they won or lost”. “We assure you that the NPF Party shall continue to work with sincerity and dedication for the upliftment of our people and protection of our inherent rights. We look forward to your continued support in the future so that we may scale even greater heights together”, said the statement.

Meanwhile, NPF also congratulated Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh for securing 32 seats in the 60 seats Assembly and expressed the hope that the formation of a new Government will work steadfastly for the development of the Manipur State, particularly the Hill Areas.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.